Advice, Policy and Training

Meet the Advice, Policy & Training team.

Advice leaflets

Senior Advice, Policy and Training Officer: Helen Speirs

h.speirs@src.gla.ac.uk

As the Senior Advice, Policy & Training Officer, Helen has responsibility for the smooth running of The Advice Centre and supports the advice, policy and training officers in delivering the front-line advice and representation service to students.

In addition, Helen co-ordinates training for council members, class representatives and the SRC Executive, organises publicity for The Advice Centre and is responsible for ensuring that policy issues arising from the advice work are reported to the Executive. Helen and the advice team are also able to support student representatives with their committee work in the University.

Advice, Policy & Training Officers

Thomas Killean t.killean@src.gla.ac.uk
Avril Conacher a.conacher@src.gla.ac.uk
Ailie Doyle a.doyle@src.gla.ac.uk
Gillian Robertson g.robertson@src.gla.ac.uk

For all advice enquiries: advice@src.gla.ac.uk

The Advice, Policy & Training Officers are based in the SRC Advice Centre and their job is to provide information, advice and representation to all students and prospective students.

Most subject areas are covered, for example student finances, accommodation problems, employment issues, academic appeals and disciplinary issues and so on.

The Advice Team also have a policy and training aspect to their role, which involves liaising with and assisting the Executive in the various types of training that are run throughout the year, as well as ensuring that data that is gathered from student enquiries forms the basis for policy decisions and campaigns run by the SRC.

The Advice Centre is open five days a week on a drop-in basis and the advice workers can also respond to email and telephone enquiries.