Academic Officers

Council has Academic Officers to represent all Colleges at Undergraduate and Postgraduate Level, as well as having a representative for Postgraduate Taught students and a representative for each School at the University.

The make up of council reflects the structure of the University. There are four Undergraduate College Convenors, four Postgraduate College Convenors, a Postgraduate Taught Convenor and a School Representative for every School.

Academic representatives work closely with the University, sitting on committees at School or University-wide level. Further to this, they work with staff to introduce or shape learning and teaching policy as well as consulting with their constituency’s to make progress on learning and teaching issues at the University.

Working closely with the Vice President (Education), academic officers play a vital representative role in the function of the SRC. You can get in touch with your representative by following the email link below.

Their responsibilities also include:

  • Organising working groups to discuss issues raised by students.
  • Passing on the information gained to Council and the VP Learning and Development.
  • Attending Faculty Meetings with relevant members of University staff to discuss the issues about the University environment, the learning process, and course information.
  • Sending occasional emails to students advising them of what the SRC is currently doing to help them, and to update students on the solutions to particular problems raised.

Current Academic officers

School representatives

Yuliana Kamenova
Ryan Rutherford
Culture and Creative Arts
Rafael Crespo Molina
Nina Hristozova
Leah Henssge
Critical Studies
Eleanor Parry
Anwar Abushaala
Joshua Mccahill
Geographical & Earth Science
Hannah-May Todd
Becky Adams
Interdisciplinary Studies
Abbas Ali
Madihah Hussain
Life Sciences
Liam Bergin
Mathematics and Statistics
Haseeb Hamid
Eleanor Young
Modern Languages and Culture
Andrew Brown
Physics and Astronomy
Shutong Luan
James Richardson
Social and Political Sciences
Veterinary Medicine

Postgraduate convenors

Julija Belogurova
Arts Convenor
Bob Rooney
MVLS Convenor
Jessica Mac Sweeney
Science and Engineering Convenor
Runming He
Social Sciences Convenor
Flynn Gewirtz-O'Reilly
PG Taught Convenor

Undergraduate convenors

Jennifer Benson
College Convenor Arts
Moiz Shah
College Convenor MVLS
Alexandrina Pancheva
College Convenor Science & Eng
Jan Vlcek
College Convenor Social Sciences